How do you Bond out of Jail?
If you are arrested, you will likely be given arrest bail bonds. If you are arrested for a misdemeanor or criminal traffic case, it is likely that this bond will be under $1,000. In a more serious criminal case, your bond could be $100,000 or more. You have two options when you are faced with a bond. Your first choice is to simply pay the fee, which will be returned to you after your case is resolved. Alternatively, you can have a bail bonds agency post the bond on your behalf; in this scenario, you would be required to pay the bondsman 10% of the total bond amount as compensation for fronting the money. In order to do this you should look for a service that provides bail bonds near, and request their services once you contact them.
The percentage that goes to a bondsman for bail bonds is a payment and is not returned to you after the case concludes. For example, if your bond is $1,000, your non-refundable fee to the bondsman would be $100. In a more serious case with a bond of $100,000, you would need to come up with $10,000 to pay the bondsman, unless you can come up with the full $100,000 as a cash bond to pay yourself. If you do hire a bondsman, it is important that you communicate with him or her to convey your location and court dates.
How does the judge determine your bond amount?
1. The nature and circumstances of the offense charged and the penalty provided by law.
2. The weight of the evidence against the defendant.
3. The defendant’s family ties, length of residence in the community, and employment history.
4. The defendant’s financial resources.
5. The need for substance abuse evaluation and treatment and the mental condition of the defendant.
6. The defendant’s past and present conduct, including any record of convictions.
7. Incidence of previous flight to avoid prosecution or failure to appear at court proceedings.
8. The nature and probability of danger that the defendant’s release poses to the community.
9. The source of funds used to post bail.
10. Whether the defendant is already on release pending resolution of another criminal proceeding, or is on probation, parole, or other release pending completion of a sentence.
In addition to these factors, there may be certain others taken into consideration if the court deems them relevant. If you violate your probation in the State of Florida, the law allows you to be held in jail with no bond amount until your violation of probation is resolved. In many counties in Florida, you will be held in jail with no bond even if you were placed on probation for a minor offense such as Petit Theft or Possession of Marijuana.
No Bond Cases
Additionally, Florida law allows a person to be arrested and held on “no bond” if he or she is arrested for certain crimes that can be punished for with a life sentence or if the person is considered to be a flight risk. In this case, he or she would not be allowed to bond out of jail until a judge set a bond amount. These “no bond” decisions are only made for very serious crimes.
Here is a quick video about getting a bond in Florida: